The Optoelectronics College was founded by Professor Ian Shanks and Professor Wilson Sibbett of the Rank Prize Funds Optoelectronics Prize Fund.

Ian and Wilson had the aim of supporting secondary school science teachers in the teaching of modern optoelectronics theory and applications and through them encourage more of our young people to study science in schools and universities and to consider careers in science.

Ian and Wilson brought together a steering group consisting of:

Professor Miles Padgett, University of Glasgow
Professor Catriona Bryce, University of Glasgow
Rhona Goss, Monifieth High School
Stuart Farmer, Robert Gordon's College, Aberdeen
Bob Kibble, University of Edinburgh.

This steering group has led the development of optoelectronics resource materials, apparatus and teacher continuing professional development materials. The first stage of this process was to bring together around 40 science teachers, teacher educators, university researchers and science equipment manufacturers at a residential three day minisymposium in November 2007 where the structure of the OEC pilot project was planned and the writing and specification of the resources begun.

The Optoelectronics College has been funded by the Rank Prize Funds with additional support from the Photonics Knowledge Transfer Network and the Institute of Physics.


Site Last Updated:

© 2008-2024 The Rank Prize Funds - All rights Reserved. Web Design by DMC
Privacy Policy